Research Guides: RELG 150: South Asian Religious Cultures (HC): Background Information

Political Cartoon

Hindu and Buddhist temples side by side in Nepal (Wikimedia Commons)

Background Information on Individual Religions

The following sources provide overviews of religious groups and their practices in South Asia. These resources are a quick way for you to find out basic facts and recent scholarly interpretations.

When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Buddhism

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features longer, thematic articles written by scholars. In the Synoptic Outline note the close to 100 entries under the heading of India.
Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive reference work has over 5,000 entries written by scholars concerning the history and practice of every tradition of Buddhism.

Hinduism
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This 4 volume encyclopedia has chapter-length entries on many topics (religious groups, concepts, gods and goddesses etc.). Each entry ends with a significant bibliography to lead you to other sources. Check the table of contents for the topics covered.
Encyclopedia of Hinduism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entries are short but have suggestions for further reading.

Islam
Encyclopaedia of Islam
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia incorporates authoritative scholarship in its articles on Islam within the context of religious history. These links include access to the third edition, now in progress, as well as the second edition (2002).
Note that article titles reflect Muslim word usage. Search in the keyword box and follow the suggested topic words, e.g. "India" results in "see hind".
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Makes available the full text of several different encyclopedias and other works for a detailed treatment of topics. Entries can be fairly long and usually end with good bibliographies for further reading.

Jainism
Jainism: An Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The author presents both the history of the Jain religion as well as an account of current beliefs and practices both in India and the diaspora. Also available as an ebook.
Jainpedia: The Jain Universe Online
This website gathers together a wide number of resources covering different subject areas and types of material. Look in particular at the choices under the Resources tab.

Sikhism
Gateway to Sikhism
This website seeks involvement from believers as well as understanding from non-believers. among other resources, you will find explanations, sacred texts, and history.
Oxford Handbook of Sikh Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The editors commissioned experts in relevant fields to write analytic essays on important aspects of Sikhism. The combined essays and their bibliographies provide a full view of the field of study.

Subject Guide

Semyon Khokhlov

Email Me

Contact:

Magill Library

610-896-2976

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English Literature, French & Francophone Studies, Spanish, Writing Program

Background Information on Religion in General

Encyclopedia of religion
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This four-volume set was edited by a team of scholars led by J. Gordon Melton. Articles focus on contemporary beliefs and practices across the globe.