This is the "Home" page of the " Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.

Social Work  

Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.brynmawr.edu/social-work Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Multidisciplinary

  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Citations & full-text articles in a variety of disciplines.
  • JSTOR  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines.
  • LexisNexis  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, transcripts, & legal materials.
  • WorldCat  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A catalog of the materials held by libraries worldwide.
  • Web of Science  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
  • Google Scholar  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Scholarly literature from all broad areas of research.
  • Credo Reference  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Over 240 reference works in various fields.
 

New Social Work Handbooks, Guidebooks and Encyclopedias

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Journal Articles

Some major sources for identifying journal articles, books, book chapters and other publications in Social Work and related fields.

  • PsycINFO  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides abstracts of journals, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations.
  • PubMed  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • Social Work Abstracts  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides abstracts of journal articles and dissertations in social work and related areas.
  • Social Services Abstracts  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Offers abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. International in scope.
  • ProQuest Social Science Journals  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides citations, abstracts and some full-text from about 450 social sciences periodicals.

Diagnoses

Bryn Mawr has access to the DSM-V in both print and electronic format:

  • PsychiatryOnline  Icon  Icon
    PsychiatryOnline provides our online access to the DSM-5®, The American Journal of Psychiatry and other psychiatric references.
  • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)  Icon
    Our print copy of the DSM-5 is shelved in the Canaday Reference section.
 

Licensing & Examinations

Study materials for state licensing exams are on permanent reserve at Canaday Library Circulation Desk.  Keep in mind:

  • The study guide and autotest CD-ROM check out for 24 hours
  • They may be removed them from the building, but late returns will accrue fines
  • 2 renewals are allowed *if the item is not booked by another patron*
  • When returning the materials please hand themdirectly to the Circulation Desk attendant
  • Alumni may check out these materials, but need to have already established library borrowing privileges. See the alumni borrowing section of the library website for a link to the borrowing privileges request form.

Other useful links:

Cover Art
Social Work Examination Services: comprehensive review notes for state social work license examinations
ISBN: 31796008561991
Two volume home study review manual for licensing exams in every state, with almost 1,600 sample multiple-choice questions and a bibliography recommended by the Association of Social Work Boards supplemented by additional references compiled by SWES faculty.

 

Social Work Librarians

Olivia Castello
Bryn Mawr College
Profile & Guides
Alex Pfundt
Bryn Mawr College
Profile & Guides
 

New Social Work Books (Print & E-Books)

Click here for the full list of new titles in Social Work for the past 6 months.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip