Research Guides: WRPR 148: Innovation, Rebellion, and Dissent (HC) Spring 2014: Background Sources

Companions

Cambridge Companions Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.

When we look for books in Tripod, we often specify a subject search for the greatest focus.

But when finding criticism of novels or plays, there is an additional strategy for finding essays published in book form.

Search the titles in quotation marks as keyword searches, adding the director's name with common titles: "pulp fiction" tarantino*

Adaptation as Adaptation : Drom Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief to Charlie (and "Donald") Kaufman's Screenplay to Spike Jonze's Film / Tomasulo, Frank P. / p. 161
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This essay appears in the book collection, Authorship in Film Adaptation. In addition to the online copies, there is also a print copy.
"Cool Cynicism: Pulp Fiction"
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essay by bell hooks in a collection of her film criticism, Reel to Real: Race, Sex and Class at the Movies. There are online versions in addition to the print copies.
Five filmmakers: Tarkovsky, Forman, Polanski, Szabó, Makavejev
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The chapter on Milos Forman provides a substantial study (42 pages) of the film director's work.

Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Very useful collection of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Some coverage for film directors as well.
Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative reference sources,including Britannica's entire encyclopaedic database, articles not yet in the print Britannica encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica book of the year. Current Coverage.

ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of all New York Times papers from the first issue in 1851 to recent years. Choose Proquest Historical from the Find It menu.
To find reviews, in the Document Type box choose Review. Above in the search boxes put the film title in quotation marks and the director's last name. Also available via Newsbank Access World News (1985-date).
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
As with the NY Times to find reviews, in the Document Type box choose Review. Above in the search boxes put the film title in quotation marks and the director's last name.

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, Cities, Classics, History, Latin American & Iberian Studies, Political Science, Writing Program

[Movie Review] The Punishment for Being Camera Shy
A. O. Scott reviews the new documentary and the accompanying book about J. D. Salinger, seeing it as a product of current celebrity culture.