*Classical & Near Eastern Archaeology*

Articles from the top journals in most disciplines. Coverage is through 3 to 5 years ago.

Citations & full-text articles in a variety of disciplines.

Contains several databases, the largest of which is the Archäologische Bibliographie, or "Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom," the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology. This database goes back to 1956, and succeeds the print Archaologische Bibliographie.

For bibliography on the Black Sea and everywhere east, choose the "Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts."

Journals, Festschriften, and collected studies are all covered; the main focus is on the Mediterranean world. To enter the site, click "IP-Access" and then the English flag to the right of the database of your choice.

The Classics and Art History bibliographies both have useful discussions of archaeological topics.

An index to journal articles, conference proceedings and articles in collected studies. This database focuses on many subject areas relating to classical studies including archaeology. Not as comprehensive as DYABOLA, but easier to use. Covers 1928-present.

Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.

Cites books and articles covering the Aegean, eastern Mediterranean and southeastern European prehistory, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. Chronological range extends from the Paleolithic through the Early Iron Age; particularly good for Bronze Age topics. Covers 1957-2004. Print version (with volumes since 2004): Carpenter Periodicals Z7023.L5 N4.

Abstracts of International Conservation Literature. Formerly Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts: literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Abstracts from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and other resources. Covers 1932-present.

Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.

Provides citations to journals in the fields of architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology. Covers 1930-present.

Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.

Digitization of text and plates from all out-of-print volumes of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (Carpenter Reference NK4640 .C6 and some volumes at Swarthmore NK 4640 .C6). Online searchable database of digitized text and images, browsable by country and museum, and searchable by fabric, technique, provenance and other aspects.

Archaeological reference works; also translations, commentaries, dictionaries.

Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.

Full text of the Cambridge Ancient History volumes (prehistory through Late Antiquity). Downloadable PDFs.

English and German versions.

Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.

Entire Mediterranean; Late Bronze Age through 7th century CE

Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Wide-ranging encyclopedia on all aspects of the subject.