- Oxford Music Online
Covers all topics related to music, including musical instruments, compositional forms and scientific topics. Biographical entries cover composers, performers and writers. Offers links to related sites including sound archives.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Covers material published in music and various other fields as they relate to music. Records appear in over a hundred languages. The majority of citations include abstracts. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
- International Index to Music Periodicals
Provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.
- International Index to the Performing Arts
Provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
- The Music Index
Print index covering 1949-2002. Good to use as a supplement to online indexes for finding materials from the mid 20th-century.
- RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales
This International Inventory of Musical Sources contains some 700,000 entries describing mostly historical music manuscripts with the majority originating before 1800. The original sources are available from libraries, music archives, and private collections world wide. Obtaining sources is possible as these institutions can often be approached for reproductions. You will want to work with your music librarian and give yourself plenty of lead time.