This is the "Home" page of the " Japanese Language & Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.

Japanese Language & Literature  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brynmawr.edu/japanese Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Multidisciplinary

  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Citations & full-text articles in a variety of disciplines.
  • JSTOR  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines.
  • LexisNexis  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, transcripts, & legal materials.
  • WorldCat  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A catalog of the materials held by libraries worldwide.
  • Web of Science  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
  • Google Scholar  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Scholarly literature from all broad areas of research.
  • Credo Reference  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Over 240 reference works in various fields.

Recommended

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
  • MLA International Bibliography  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides citations to journal articles, books, working papers, conference proceedings, bibliographies, and other materials. Areas covered include literature, language, linguistics, film, theatre and folklore. Covers 1926-present.

More Resources

  • The Kodansha bilingual encyclopedia of Japan  Icon
  • The A to Z of modern Japanese literature and theater  Icon
  • The Cambridge companion to modern Japanese culture  Icon
  • Yomiuri shinbun  Icon  Icon  Icon
 

Books

Cover Art
Diversity in Japanese Culture and Language - John C. Maher; Gaynor Macdonald (Editor)
ISBN: 0710304773
Publication Date: 1995-01-04
"Diversity in Japanese Culture and Language addresses the need for broader perspectives on the experience of being Japanese or living in Japan, and contributes to broader discussions of cultural plurality, nationalism, multiculturalism, cultural dominance and linguistic diversity. Fields of study to which the book is of special relevance include Japanese studies, intercultural communication, international relations, minority studies, indigenous people's studies, linguistics, anthropology and sociology." "Contributions from academics and grass-roots people combine in this unique work to describe the existing plurality in Japan, in order to start balancing the perspectives which currently exist in the non-Japanese literature about Japan. It challenges the myth of Japanese uniqueness by focussing on very common experiences that Japanese people share with people in other parts of the world. Above all, it seeks to counteract the common tendency to see complexity as a threat by illustrating the value of diversity and cultural plurality to society as a whole."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Breaking into Japanese Literature - Giles Murray
ISBN: 4770028997
Publication Date: 2003-03-14

Seven modern classics in parallel text. Breaking Into Japanese Literature is a Kodansha International publication.


Cover Art
Early Modern Japanese Literature - Haruo Shirane (Editor); James Brandon (Translator)
ISBN: 0231109903
Publication Date: 2002-07-03

This is the first anthology ever devoted to early modern Japanese literature, spanning the period from 1600 to 1900, known variously as the Edo or the Tokugawa, one of the most creative epochs of Japanese culture. This anthology, which will be of vital interest to anyone involved in this era, includes not only fiction, poetry, and drama, but also essays, treatises, literary criticism, comic poetry, adaptations from Chinese, folk stories and other non-canonical works. Many of these texts have never been translated into English before, and several classics have been newly translated for this collection.


 

Japanese Librarians

Christine Boyland
Bryn Mawr College
Profile & Guides
James Gulick
Haverford College
Profile & Guides
Pamela Harris
Swarthmore College
Profile & Guides
 

New in Japanese Language & Literature

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip