Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Provides alphabetically-arranged articles on qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.
- Encyclopedia of Islam
The bibliographies tend to have a number of citations to materials which are not in English.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Provides full-text encyclopedia articles, primary source documents, maps, images, and timelines relating to Islamic studies. Also contains two full-text interpretations of the Qur'an and a concordance. Articles cover the history, peoples, beliefs, individuals, and cultures that constitute the world of Islam.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world
Good survey articles with suggestions for further readings. Published in 2004.
- Encyclopedia of Religion
Published in 2005. Note that some of the articles and bibliographies have not been updated since the 1987 edition. Also available in print format. Provides good introductory articles with suggestions for further reading.
- Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies
An excellent place to start looking for additional writings on your topic. This source consists of annotated bibliographies on various topic. The entry on each topic start with a very short overview followed by suggestions for further reading on various aspects of the topic. The topics are listed alphabetically. To see a list of all of the topics covered click on the "Learn more about this subject" link in the left boxed column. Then scroll down after the new screen appears.
- Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures
Each of the first five volumes have articles selected on particular themes/topics. You can look at the table of contents of each volume and/or check the subject index at the end of volume six to find entries on your topic. Volume six also has some supplementary articles. (first volumes were published in 2003, volume six was published in 2007).
- Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
This print source is also available online as part of the Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
- Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
Volume 1 has useful articles with good bibliographies. You may want to look at the "List of Entries by Topic" on page xix to find entries related to your topic.
Note spelling variations (Qur'an or Koran)
Note use of different terms (hijab or veil or head scarf). Different resources may use a different term, so you might have to search by various terms to find information on your topic.
If you find a useful book check the subject headings assigned to that book to find related books.