Skip to Main Content

WRPR 148: Innovation, Rebellion, and Dissent (HC) Spring 2013: Background Sources

Writing Program 148: Innovation, Rebellion, and Dissent (Benatov) Spring 2013

Companions

Cambridge Companions Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.

The Oxford Companion to American Literature by James D. Hart; Phillip Leininger (Revised by)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0195065484
Publication Date: 1995-10-12
With over 5,000 total entries, The Oxford Companion to American Literature reflects a dynamic balance between past and contemporary literature, surveying virtually every aspect of our national literature, from the Pulitzer Prize to pulp fiction, and from Walt Whitman to William F. Buckley, Jr. There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their styles, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history.

Encyclopedias and Reference Works

Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Very useful collection of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Some coverage for film directors as well.
Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative reference sources,including Britannica's entire encyclopaedic database, articles not yet in the print Britannica encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica book of the year. Current Coverage.

Schirmer encyclopedia of film
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

Film Reviews

New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of all New York Times papers from the first issue in 1851 to recent years. Choose Proquest Historical from the Find It menu.
To find reviews, in the Document Type box choose Review. Above in the search boxes put the film title in quotation marks and the director's last name. Also available via Newsbank Access World News (1985-date).
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
As with the NY Times to find reviews, in the Document Type box choose Review. Above in the search boxes put the film title in quotation marks and the director's last name.

Subject Guide

Margaret Schaus

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, Cities, Classics, History, Latin American & Iberian Studies, Political Science, Writing Program