Research Guides: ARTS 216: History of Photography from 1839 to the Present (HC): Library Resources

Books

Tripod
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Do an "Author" search to find books by a photographer. A "Subject" search will give you books about the photographer.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat has holdings from thousands of libraries with over 300 million titles represented. Use the searches that prove successful in Tripod to find many more relevant titles. You can request materials that you need through Interlibrary Loan.

Borrowing in the Tri-Co and Beyond

Tripod
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tripod searches for individual journal articles as well as the Tri-College libraries’ collection of books, journal titles, multimedia materials, databases and more.
E-ZBorrow
Directly request books from regional academic libraries for delivery in 2-5 days. Books loaned via EZBorrow may be renewed via your library account. EZborrows can be renewed for 30 days. Each EZBorrow can be renewed twice, so that you can have a book lent via EZBorrow for up to 90 days!
Interlibrary Loan
Request books (and more) not available in Tripod or via E-ZBorrow for delivery in 2-14 days. No need to specify a library - the ILL staff will find out who owns an item and is likely to lend. The lending library sets the loan period and makes the decision on renewals.

.30 Bullet piercing an apple, 1964 by Harold Eugene Edgerton

Photographs held by Haverford

When you have selected a print or prints you wish to view, you can arrange to see the print by contacting hc-special@haverford.edu or going into Special Collections during their open hours Monday through Friday.

Haverford Master List of Fine Art Photographs
This two-part guide, created by the Fine Arts Department, covers fine art photographs acquired through August 2013 and held in Haverford's Special Collections. The descriptions are fuller than the List of Photographs and include dates and nationalities of photographers, structure, color, dimensions and dates of the photographs, and acquisition information.
List of Photographs in Haverford's Special Collections Library
This online list shows photographs acquired through August 1, 2013. For updates on newly acquired photographs, see the paper copy of the list kept in Special Collections which is updated with hand-written notes.

TriArte: The Art & Artifacts Database of the TriColleges This link opens in a new window
This database shows the holdings of artworks held by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore. The advantage of using TriArte is that results are displayed with a thumbnail reproduction of the artwork. Most of Haverford's photographic prints are listed in this database.

TriArte can be searched in a variety of ways. If you know the photographer that you want to search, click on "Search the Collections" in the right column. Then enter the photographer's name in the Artist box.

If you want to see generally what is in the collection you can select "Browse the Collections" in the left column. You can then limit to "College" and then "Photographs". The results are displayed by title of the print. At this point if you click on "Text List" and then "Primary Artist" the results will be redisplayed alphabetically by photographer's last name.

Photographs Held by the Philadelphia Museum of Art

Searching the Collections
This link is for the general search page.
You can look for a specific artist (ex. Eggleston).
Or for a particular technique as a keyword (ex. chromogenic). See also the keyword search dye transfer.

Approximately a third of the museum's collections are digitized online at this point.

Art & Art History Librarians (HC)

	Julie Coy Art & Photography Librarian Profile & Guides
	Margaret Schaus Haverford College Profile & Guides

Browsing the Collection

Most university and many specialized art libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. Knowing a few of the most commonly used call numbers will allow you to browse a collection. Many titles will fall into the following topic areas and call number ranges:

TR1            photography magazines
TR15 -139    histories of photography
TR647          exhibit catalogs
TR651          photographic works or topics from years 1800-1850
TR652          photographic works or topics from years 1851-1900
TR653          photographic works or topics from years 1901-1950
TR654          photographic works or topics from years 1951-2000
TR655          photographic works or topics from years 2001-
TR660          landscape photography
TR681          portraits
TR820.5       documentary photography

NOTE: After the first section of the call number (TR654) the second section starts with a letter. This letter will often refer to the first letter in the photographer's last name. For example, a book about Walker Evans would be at the call number TR654 E..