Research Guides: POLS 161: The Politics of Globalization (HC) [Spring 2013]: Background Information

Background on Politics and Business

Handbook of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides overview essays about different aspects of human rights including legal, political, and economic topics.
Oxford Handbook of Corporate Social Responsibility
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A review of issues involved in the changing relationship between business, society and government, environmental issues, corporate governance, the social and ethical dimensions of management, globalization, stakeholder debates, shareholder and consumer activism, changing political systems and values, and the ways in which corporations can respond to new social imperatives.

Political Handbook of the World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This authoritative reference book provides detailed information on the major aspects of each country's government and political parties. Because the handbook is updated regularly it is a good source for information on current events, elections, political history, and more.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization
- This link opens in a new window
"The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of globalization ... Covers [such] topics in the study of globalization as: agency-structure, Americanization, anti-globalization, Bretton Woods, coca-colonization, empire, Euro crisis, ethnic cleansing, exploitation, feminization of poverty, genocide, global warming, nation-state, neo-liberalism, oil, post-globalization, Qaedaism, rape, sex work, sport, terror, transnational corporations, Twitter Revolution, water crisis, Web 2.0, Wikileaks, World Social Forum and, Zapatistas. Includes a number of key documents listed as entries such as the Kyoto Protocol and The Universal Declaration of Human Rights."--Publisher description.

Business Directories and Statistics

Company Dossier (LexisNexis Academic)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Under Get Company Info, click on Company Dossier.
The Company Dossier snapshot provides an overview of the company along with links for more news articles, corporate relations, financial statistics, legal information, and sources.

Use one or more of the following sources to get background information on a company or corporation. Be sure also to go to the company's Website and look at recent annual reports. Sometimes phoning the company headquarters will give you more specific information.

Country Information (Lexis Nexis)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This search draws from business news sources and country reports to cover economic conditions in countries worldwide. Connect through the link on the far left.
Great Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce Membership Directory
The Chamber of Commerce offers an online, open access directory of member businesses. You can search by company name or business keyword. Most entries include address, website link, and map.
SEC Filings (LexisNexis)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click on Companies in the far left column, then choose SEC Filings.
This database includes 10-K reports, annual financial and business reports on companies.

Manufacturing

Factory Tours Online
How Everyday Things are Made (Stanford University)
Video overviews of the manufacturing process for 25 products including jelly beans, steel, and denim. Also note the video presentations on manufacturing processes using plastics and metals from the early stage of casting or molding through finishing and painting.,
HowStuffIsMade
"HowStuffisMade (HSIM) is a visual encyclopedia that documents manufacturing processes, labor conditions and environmental impacts involved in the production of contemporary products. Entries are summative photo essays produced by students who are guided by faculty responsible for ensuring appropriate citations and standards of evidence. Students engage the cooperation of manufacturers when possible. As an independent, academic, wiki-based publication, HSIM reconsiders engineering and design education as fundamentally connected to the social and political constraints, organizational innovations and global context that inform manufacturing decisions."
What Cameras Inside Foxconn Found
This recent blog from the New York Times includes links to other current articles and news reports.

Poster Printer

Poster

Magill Library offers a walk-up poster printing service during the following hours:

Monday – Thursday	8:30am – 5pm & 7pm – 11pm
Friday	8:30am – 4:30pm
Saturday	10am – 5pm
Sunday	7pm – 11pm

Please inquire at the Research or Circulation Desks about this service. Posters needed for a class presentation are free of charge. Posters needed for club, organization or personal use will cost $10 (cash only, please).

Create a poster using this PowerPoint template. As you create your poster, please mind the following:
- If you choose to paste content from other files/sources, use the "Paste Special..." option:
  - for PC users, use "Paste Special..." and choose metafile
  - for Mac users, use "Paste Special..." and choose picture
- Elements (images, text, etc.) on your poster will appear much larger in print. It is important, then, to set the template zoom to 100% when gauging size.
- Please ensure that no more than 30% of the total area has a colored background.
- If it is necessary to have the higher resolution on your pictures, then please have the poster ready early so that the processing on the printer (which can take as long as 1 hour) will not tie up the printer for others to use to meet deadlines.
Once finished, save the PowerPoint file as a JPEG.
Store the JPEG on a flash/USB drive to bring with you to print from.

Subject Guide

Margaret Schaus

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, Cities, Classics, History, Latin American & Iberian Studies, Political Science, Writing Program