Research Guides: *Engineering*: Home

Research Best Bets

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A study revealed that Google Scholar had a 90% matching rate with COMPENDEX, a highly regarded engineering database, for materials published after 1990.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, as well as eBooks and educational courses. IEEE Xplore also includes content from select other publishers including the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), MIT Press, IBM, Alcatel-Lucent, VDE Verlag, and AIP/AVS (American Institute of Physics/American Vacuum Society).

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
The USPTO is the primary, authoritative source for US patent information. They have separate search interfaces for issued patents, applications, and application documents.
Google Patents
All documents available through Google Patents originate from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office (EPO), and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Google Patents covers the entire collection of granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO, EPO, and WIPO. US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO and WIPO to 1978.

ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Full-text is available only for journals to which the TriColleges subscribe. Full-text access for most journals goes back to 1993. Abstracts are available for non-subscribed journals.
Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the Association of Computing Machinery's journals and other resources including conference proceedings, newsletters and transactions. Includes computer science and related disciplines. Covers 1969-present.
AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates and links to related websites in all areas of science and technology. Covers 2000-present.