Research Guides: EDUC 200: Critical Issues in Education (BMC): Home

Background Information

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find reports on many social issues, including education policy and reform.
Oxford Bibliographies in Education
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Treat this as a source for finding additional sources. Oxford Bibliographies are annotated, and provide broad but concise overviews of topics. Browse by topic alphabetically or use the advanced search and narrow to education.

Review of Educational Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes literature reviews on various topics in education.

Handbook of Education Politics and Policy (2015)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780415660426
The Handbook of Education Politics and Policy presents the latest research and theory on the most important topics within the field of the politics of education. Well-known scholars in the fields of school leadership, politics, policy, law, finance, and educational reform examine the institutional backdrop to our educational system, the political behaviors and cultural influences operating within schools, and the ideological and philosophical positions that frame discussions of educational equity and reform.
Handbook of Urban Education (2014)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780415634762
This volume brings together leading scholars in urban education to focus on inner city matters, specifically as they relate to educational research, theory, policy, and practice. Each chapter provides perspectives on the history and evolving nature of urban education, the current education landscape, and helps chart an all-important direction for future work and needs.
Handbook of Global Education Policy (2016)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781118468050
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the ways in which domestic education policy is framed and influenced by global institutions and actors. Surveys current debates about the role of education in a global polity, highlights key transnational policy actors, accessibly introduces research methodologies, and outlines global agendas for education reform.

Scholarly Articles

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
ProQuest Education Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources. Similar to ERIC.
Teacher Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts and full text of articles from 280 journals in the area of education and school administration. Covers all levels of education, including K-12 and higher education.

Policy Papers

PolicyFile
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Covers a wide range of topics from international trade to health care reform, from telecommunications regulation to terrorism. Most content is NOT peer-reviewed.

Consortium for Policy Research in Education
"CPRE researchers have made their mark studying the effectiveness of federal, state, and local policies, with particular emphasis on accountability systems, school finance, teacher quality initiatives, assessment systems, and school governance."
National Center for Education Statistics -- Condition of Education Reports
Condition of Education is an annual publication from the NCES summarizing the most requested statistics on Education in the United States. See more NCES publications bysearching their Publications page .
Governing Urban Schools in the Future: What’s Facing Philadelphia and Pennsylvania
The Pew Charitable Trusts commissioned an analysis comparing key elements of
Philadelphia’s school governance system with those of 15 other major urban districts.

Strategic Searching in Google

You can readily find targeted information using Google by employing site or domain searching.

For example, site:.gov will return only US government websites.

Other examples include site:edu (institutions of education) and site:.org (non-profits).

You can also search specific websites or domains.

For example, site:pa.gov will search Pennsylvania government websites.

You could search site:pa.gov schools AND poverty to find results on PA government websites about schools and poverty.

EDUC 200: Critical Issues in Education (BMC)

Bryn Mawr Librarian

Haverford Librarian

Background Information

Scholarly Articles

Policy Papers

Strategic Searching in Google