Research Guides: HIST 218: Memories, Memorials, and Representations of World War I (BMC): Bryn Mawr Special Collections

Bryn Mawr during World War I

College News, 1914-1968
Bryn Mawr College student newspaper.

The Special Collections Department maintains the College Archives, the repository for the official records of the College, including the records of Board of Trustee meetings and both personal and official papers of the College's president during the war years, M. Carey Thomas. The Archives also includes College and student publications:

World War I Newspapers and Magazines

Jugend : Münchner illustrierte Wochenschrift für Kunst und Leben
Art and cultural magazine published in Munich from 1896 to 1940. Bryn Mawr has the issues from 1913 to 1920.
Simplicissimus
Leading German cultural weekly, published from 1896 to 1967. Bryn Mawr has holdings from October 1914 to 1920.
L'illustration : journal universel
Leading French illustrated weekly, published from 1843 to 1944. Bryn Mawr has 1913 to 1920.
Jus suffragii : monthly organ of the International Woman Suffrage Alliance
Newsletter of the International Woman Suffrage Alliance, published in London. In 1916 the newsletter's name was changed to the International Woman Suffrage News. Bryn Mawr has from 1914 to 1920.

Letters, Diaries and Scrapbooks

The Special Collections Department includes letters and diaries written by a number of people serving either in the military or at military hospitals or facilities during the war.

Alma Clarke Papers
American who volunteered in World War I helping French orphans through the Committee France-America for the Protection of the Children of the Frontier and as a Red Cross Auxiliary Nurse in the American Red Cross Military Hospital No. 1 in Neuilly-sur-Seine. The collection includes her scrapbooks and letters from the war.
Beatrice Danford Diaries
Danford was a British woman who was living near the front in Northern France during World War I. Her diaries describe her life as both a resident near the front and a volunteer in the British military support units.
Jean Scobie Davis Papers
Davis was a 1914 graduate of Bryn Mawr who studied economics and international law at the University of Geneva in 1914-1915. The collection includes letters from her and her mother while they were in Switzerland.
Claud Lovat Fraser Papers
Lovat Fraser, a British artist and theater designer, served in the British army in France during World War I. The papers include his letters home from the front, and his sketchbooks with drawings made while serving in the army.
Margaret Hall Diary, 1918-1919
Margaret Hall, Bryn Mawr Class of 1899, worked as a Red Cross volunteer in France in 1918 and 1919. She maintained a diary throughout her service, and transformed it into a more polished scrapbook, with photographs and documents, shortly after the war.
Dorothy North Haskins Papers
Haskins, BMC class of 1909, did relief work in France and Russia with the American Friends Service Committee from 1917 to 1923. Her papers include her correspondence, journals and writings on relief work.
Olivia Stokes Hatch Papers
Includes diaries and correspondence of Anna V.S. Mitchell who did relief work in Serbia during World War I and worked with Russian refugees in Constantinople from 1919 into the 1930s.
Anne Kierstead Papers
Includes diary of Kierstead's mother, Helen Williams, Bryn Mawr class of 1906, covering her trip to Europe in the summer of 1914 and her efforts to get out of Germany after the war started.
Joseph Haines Papers
Haines, an 1898 graduate of Haverford College,served in France and England from 1917 to 1921 as part of the Friends War Relief Committee. The papers consist of his letters to his father. (From the Haverford College Special Collections).
Elkington, Waring Family Papers
Howard and Katharine Elkington were Philadelphia Quakers who did relief work in France from 1917 to 1919 as part of the American Friends Service Committee. The papers include their letters from France to their families. (From the Haverford College Special Collections)