Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.
- Oxford Art Online
Includes full-text articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present. Contains images and provides links to related sites. Draws information from:
Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Term
- Oxford bibliographies online. Art history
Provides annotated bibliographies on various topics in the History of Art. Usually updated twice a year.
- The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists
Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more. There are also extended conceptual entries ranging over such subjects as abstraction, allegory, genres, iconography, illusionism, minimalism, realism, and symbolism.
- Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
- World Painting Index
- Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Benezit contains thousands of artist biographies, as well as auction records, exhibition histories, museum listings, bibliographies, images of artists signatures and monograms, and links to external websites of research value.
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Contains more than 5,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.
- Art Index
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
- International Bibliography of Art
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history; scholarship from 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. International coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Offers abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers 1975-2007.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all areas of modern and contemporary art including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Covers late 1960's-present.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Provides citations to journals in the fields of architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology. Covers 1930-present.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
- Periodicals Index Online
Index to journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
- Index of Christian art
Indexes works of art (paintings, manuscripts, sculpture, metalwork, etc.), and covers early Christian art through ca. 1550 AC. Includes bibliography, subject access, and images.
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Coverage varies.
- TriArte: The Art & Artifacts Database of the TriColleges
TriArte features art and artifacts from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges.
- Index of Christian art
About 100,000 images available. Early Christian to ca. 1550. Some duplication with images in ARTstor.
Images catalogued for B, H, and S teaching. Most, but not all, images in Tripix are also in ARTstor, so check that first.