- Année Philologique
The most comprehensive index for classics. Indexes and abstracts journals, collections, and conference volumes relating to classical literature, history, archaeology, law, and the classical tradition. Coverage online is from 1926 to 2008; the database now covers all volumes in print. (Print volumes can be found in the Trico libraries: Carpenter Reference Z7016 .M35A; Swarthmore Reference PA3001 .M35a; Haverford Stacks Z7016 .M32.)
- Brill's New Pauly and Supplements
The English translation.
- Brill's New Pauly
Haverford and Swarthmore have the New Pauly encyclopedia and "Classical Tradition" and supplement volumes in print.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary
Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
- Catalogue of the German Archaeological Institute libraries
Book and article level index of the DAI libraries in Rome, Athens, Istanbul, Berlin, etc. Best for archaeology, but also good for classics. Includes much of the same content as DYABOLA; somewhat easier to use.
Contains several databases, the most important of which is the "Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom," the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology. This database goes back to 1956, and succeeds the print Archaologische Bibliographie, which started in 1932 (Carpenter Periodicals DE 2 .D5). Journals, Festschriften, and collected studies are all covered; the main focus is on the Mediterranean world. To enter the site, click "IP-Access" and then the English flag to the right of the database of your choice.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online
Indexes international journal articles and collected studies in any field relating to the medieval world (classics, art, archaeology, history, theology, Islamic studies, music, etc.). Coverage is from 1967. To enter the site, click "Enter databases" and then "Go."
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae Online
Comprehensive scholarly dictionary of Latin, encompassing the Latin language from the earliest times to AD 600. A-M, P, and some of N and R have been published.
Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore all have the print edition: see Tripod
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
Includes an annotated for Classics; some articles in "Art History" may be relevant.
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Contains more than 5,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome
Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
- Periodicals Index Online
Very useful for locating older articles in journals in English and western European languages. The major archaeology, art, and classics journals are indexed, and coverage is from the first volume of the journal.
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.
A bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, (400-1700). Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies and discographies.
- ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
- Modern Language Translations of Byzantine Sources
Points to published translations of Byzantine Greek.
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum
A collected, annotated, searchable bibliography of books and articles on aspects of Greek epigraphy, as well as summaries of Greek inscriptions. Inscriptions are listed by provenance and region.
Swarthmore and Bryn Mawr have current print subscriptions to SEG as well: CN360.S9