Research Guides: *Environmental Studies*: Data & Statistics

Resources for Data and Statistics

CIA World Fact Book This link opens in a new window
Detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world.

Data.gov
U.S. Federal Data Sources
Energy Statistics Database
The Energy Statistics Database is distributed through the UNData portal and contains basic statistics for more than 220 countries/territories. Currently, the database provides time series for the period 1950-2011 and is updated annually.
EPA Envirofacts Data Warehouse
Retrieve EPA data on waste, water, toxics, air, land, radiation, and compliance. Information can also be accessed by zip code, or city/county/state abbreviation.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (2013-Present)

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Series (1878-2012)
Archived editions of the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. up to 2012 are available via the website of the U.S. Census Bureau.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides information on the size and distribution of our population.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) This link opens in a new window
Through its Water Resources Division, collects and maintains data on the quality, availability and use of the Nation's water, including streamflow data for hydropower plants, groundwater subsistence, erosion, backwater, flooding, water contamination, and sedimentation.

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office: US Patent Database
See here for access to more databases through the PTO.
Google Patent Search
Patents worldwide
Espacenet (European Patent Office)
Collection of patent applications from 100+ countries.
WIPO Patentscope
Patent searching from the World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO).
Japanese Patents
Platform to search for Japanese patents.
www.pat2pdf.org
A FREE patent search tool - you must have the patent number to search this database.