Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.
Last Updated: May 26, 2015
- Catalogue of the German Archaeological Institute (ZENON)
Zenon, the catalogue of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut. Much of the same information as DYABOLA below, only through a free interface.
Included in this catalog are not only books held by the DAI libraries, but a full index to the journals and collected volumes. There is good coverage of Greek and Turkish archaeology. You can search for Greek titles in Greek.
Contains several databases, the largest of which is the Archäologische Bibliographie, or "Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom," the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology. This database goes back to 1956, and succeeds the print Archaologische Bibliographie.
For bibliography on the Black Sea and everywhere east, choose the "Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts."
Journals, Festschriften, and collected studies are all covered; the main focus is on the Mediterranean world. To enter the site, click "IP-Access" and then the English flag to the right of the database of your choice.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
The Classics and Art History bibliographies both have useful discussions of archaeological topics.
- Année Philologique
An index to journal articles, conference proceedings and articles in collected studies. This database focuses on many subject areas relating to classical studies including archaeology. Not as comprehensive as DYABOLA, but easier to use. Covers 1959-present.
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.
Cites books and articles covering the Aegean, eastern Mediterranean and southeastern European prehistory, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. Chronological range extends from the Paleolithic through the Early Iron Age; particularly good for Bronze Age topics. Covers 1957-2004. Print version (with volumes since 2004): Carpenter Periodicals Z7023.L5 N4.
- AATA Online
Abstracts of International Conservation Literature. Formerly Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts: literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Abstracts from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and other resources. Covers 1932-present.
- Art Index
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
Provides a searchable database of summary notices for Roman Empire archaeological sites excavated since the year 2000.
- Archaeology in Greece Online
A database of fieldwork in Greece produced by the École française d’Athènes and the British School at Athens, combining the annual reports on archaeology in Greece published in Bulletin de Correspondance hellénique by the EFA and in the Journal of Hellenic Studies by the BSA.
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
Digitization of text and plates from all out-of-print volumes of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (Carpenter Reference NK4640 .C6 and some volumes at Swarthmore NK 4640 .C6). Online searchable database of digitized text and images, browsable by country and museum, and searchable by fabric, technique, provenance and other aspects.
- CEFAEL digital library (French School at Athens)
Full text of Bulletin de Correspondance Hellenique, BCH Supplements, and most volumes in series published by the French School at Athens (including the Fouilles de Delphes, Exploration archéologique de Délos, and Etudes Thasiennes).
- Perseus Digital Library
Archaeological reference works; also translations, commentaries, dictionaries.
- Cambridge Companions Online
Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Full text of the Cambridge Ancient History volumes (prehistory through Late Antiquity). Downloadable PDFs.
- Brill's New Pauly and Supplements
English and German versions.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome
Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Entire Mediterranean; Late Bronze Age through 7th century CE