This is the "Home" page of the " Comparative Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.

Comparative Literature  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brynmawr.edu/comparative-literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Multidisciplinary

  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Citations & full-text articles in a variety of disciplines.
  • JSTOR  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Articles from the top journals in most disciplines. Coverage is through 3 to 5 years ago.
  • LexisNexis  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, transcripts, & legal materials.
  • WorldCat  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A catalog of the materials held by libraries worldwide.
  • Web of Science  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
  • Google Scholar  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Scholarly literature from all broad areas of research.
  • Credo Reference  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Over 240 reference works in various fields.

Related Subject Guides

Classics
by Camilla MacKay, Jeremiah Mercurio, Margaret Schaus, Roberto Vargas - Last Updated May 22, 2014
871 views this year
English Literature
by Nabil Kashyap, Jeremiah Mercurio, Arleen Zimmerle - Last Updated Aug 28, 2014
1,088 views this year
French & Francophone Studies
by Christine Boyland, Pamela Harris, Jeremiah Mercurio - Last Updated Aug 22, 2013
78 views this year
German Studies
by Jeremy Blatchley, Christine Boyland, Pamela Harris, Jeremiah Mercurio - Last Updated Dec 4, 2013
62 views this year
Italian
by Christine Boyland, Pamela Harris, Jeremiah Mercurio - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
20 views this year
Linguistics
by Jeremiah Mercurio, Roberto Vargas - Last Updated Aug 20, 2014
193 views this year
Spanish
by Christine Boyland, Pamela Harris, Jeremiah Mercurio, Roberto Vargas - Last Updated Jul 25, 2014
56 views this year

Recommended

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
  • HAPI  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
  • HLAS  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes social science and humanities journals and conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations. Also offers links to some full-text articles. Covers 1936-present.
  • Iter  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, (400-1700). Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies and discographies.
  • Literature Resource Center  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
  • MLA International Bibliography  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides citations to journal articles, books, working papers, conference proceedings, bibliographies, and other materials. Areas covered include literature, language, linguistics, film, theatre and folklore. Covers 1926-present.
  • Periodicals Index Online  Icon  Icon
    Index to journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
  • Project Muse  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

More Resources

  • Nineteenth Century Masterfile  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Includes over seventy seminal as well as lesser known contemporary indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Access is by genre: 1. Multi-title Periodical Indexes (e.g., Poole's, Legal, Religion, Scientific Papers, etc.); 2. Book Indexes; 3. Newspaper Indexes; 4. Complete Individual Periodical Indexes (e.g., Harper's, Atlantic Monthly,etc.); 5. US Patents; Hansard's; US and UK Historical Government Documents
  • Literature Online  Icon  Icon  Icon
    A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose. Includes complementary references sources. Offers access to information on English and American literature including bibliographies, and catalogs. Also provides access to online editions of literary works, discussion lists, electronic journals, and library catalogs. Includes links to English poetry texts, drama, and fiction. Also offers links to editions of the works of William Shakespeare, to American poetry, editions of the Bible, and Webster's dictionary.
  • LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.
 

Comparative Literature Librarians

Arleen Zimmerle
Bryn Mawr College
Profile & Guides
Jeremiah Mercurio
Haverford College
Profile & Guides
Pamela Harris
Swarthmore College
Profile & Guides
 

New in Languages & Literature

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip