Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.
- Africana Studies Guide
- East Asian Studies Guide
- Latin American and Iberian Studies Guide
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Provides citations to journals in the fields of architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology. Covers 1930-present.
- Historic American Buildings Survey
Begun in 1933, this collection documents America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 556,900 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 38,600 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.
- Oxford Art Online
Includes full-text articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present. Contains images and provides links to related sites.
- Art Index
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Offers abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers 1975-2007.
- Social Explorer
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census, 1790-present. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
- Encyclopedia of urban studies
Covers all aspects of cities, their suburbs, and other urban areas. Includes urban economics, urban planning, urban architecture, urban ecology, urban transportation systems, urban politics, and urban social relations.
- Encyclopedia of urban America
Online encyclopedia covering people, topics, and places related to cities and urban life in the US. Long articles contain bibliographies and cross-references.
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Records added after 1972 contain in-depth abstracts of journal articles. Covers 1963-present.
Provides online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.Covers a wide range of topics from international trade to health care reform, from telecommunications regulation to terrorism. Coverage varies.
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Includes over seventy seminal as well as lesser known contemporary indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Access is by genre: 1. Multi-title Periodical Indexes (e.g., Poole's, Legal, Religion, Scientific Papers, etc.); 2. Book Indexes; 3. Newspaper Indexes; 4. Complete Individual Periodical Indexes (e.g., Harper's, Atlantic Monthly,etc.); 5. US Patents; Hansard's; US and UK Historical Government Documents
- Periodicals Index Online
Index to journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
- New York Times on the Web
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851 to three years before the current date. Use Lexis-Nexis for the most current three years.
- Washington Post
Contains nearly all articles that have appeared in the Washington Post since 1877.
- Philadelphia Architects & Buildings
FREE REGISTRATION REQUIRED FOR SEARCHING. Brings together the collections, data, images and professional expertise of The Athenaeum of Philadelphia, the University of Pennsylvania Architectural Archives, the Philadelphia Historical Commission, the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, and several local cultural institutions, enabling free access to information on the built environment of the five-county Philadelphia area.
- Places in Time
- Greater Philadelphia GeoHistory Network
The Greater Philadelphia GeoHistory Network is a pilot project of the Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries (PACSCL) to develop a web-based repository of geographically organized historical information about Philadelphia, its geography, its buildings, and its people.
- Metropolitan Philadelphia Indicators Project
MPIP, from Temple University, uses a set of regional indicators to measure conditions and track changes in communities across the greater Philadelphia region. The site includes MetroPhilaMapper, an online interactive mapping and analysis application that enables users to access and investigate data on regional socio-economic indicators.
- Philadelphia NIS neighborhoodBase
Provides information from the U.S. Census and several city agencies on a variety of topics, including housing, population, land use, utilities, and more. Census information is from 2000; other city information is more recent. A project of the Cartographic Modeling Lab at the University of Pennsylvania.
Calling itself "the region's home page," this website provides local news, entertainment guides, classifieds and more.