Research Guides: POLS 317: International Law and the Laws of Nations (HC): Background Information

War Crimes

Remembrance of Rwandan genocide victims in a memorial center in Kigali (Source: Wikimedia Commons, Public domain)

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law by Bardo Fassbender
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0198725221
Publication Date: 2014
For specific aspects of international law, see:
Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law
Oxford Handbook of International Law in Armed Conflict
Oxford Handbook of the Theory of International Law by Anne Orford (Editor); Florian Hoffmann (Editor); Martin Clark
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2016-08-02
Provides an accessible and authoritative guide to the major thinkers, concepts, approaches, and debates that have shaped contemporary international legal theory. The Handbook features more than fifty original essays by leading international scholars from a wide range of traditions, nationalities, and perspectives. See this table of contents and substantive book review article for identifying an essay you want to use from this handbook.

Blackwell guide to social and political philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book brings together a collection of newly commissioned essays which examine fundamental issues in social and political theory. Written by leading social and political philosophers, each essay provides a map to the history of the issue at hand and a judicious assessment of the main arguments that have been brought to bear upon that issue.
Cambridge Companion to International Criminal Law
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The book is organised around several themes, including institutions, crimes and trials. Purposes and principles place the discipline within a broader context, covering the relationship with human rights law, transitional justice, punishment and the imperatives of peace.
Encyclopedia of political theory
- This link opens in a new window
Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own era as well as the main schools of political thought; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. Note the selective bibliographies at the ends of articles for further reading.
Oxford Guide to International Humanitarian Law
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive overview of international humanitarian law along with examples of how the law applies in practice.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed, open-access encyclopedia started by the Stanford University Philosophy Department in 1997. The encyclopedia consists of extended articles in all areas of philosophy. Entries are created and updated by experts in the field, and each contains extensive bibliographic references. Entries for some subject areas are still under development. Continually updated.

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding. Check Annual Reviews for literature reviews devoted in whole or part to issues related to your topic, while Oxford Bibliographies provide annotated reading lists.

Annual Reviews

The Catholic Church and International Law (2017) in the Annual Review of Law and Social Science
Critiques of Human Rights (2018) in the Annual Review of Law and Social Science
Empirical Studies of Human Rights Law (2019) in the Annual Review of Law and Social Science
International Courts: A Theoretical Assessment (2017) in the Annual Review of Political Science
Just War Theory: Revisionists versus Traditionalists (2017) in the Annual Review of Political Science
Making Sense of the Design of International Institutions (2019) in the Annual Review of Political Science
Peripheral Histories of International Law (2019) in the Annual Review of Law and Social Science
Political Theory of Empire and Imperialism (2010) in the Annual Review of Political Science
The Rise of International Regime Complexity (2018) in the Annual Review of Law and Social Science
Water Security and International Law (2021) in the Annual Review of Law and Social Science

Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated bibliographies on specific topics in political science and related areas written by scholars in the field. New essays are added twice a year. Essays of general interest now available include:
"International Criminal Justice"
"International Law"
"International NGOs"
See essays from the International Relations Section below. BMC students for the titles below from the International Relations Section, connect through the Haverford icon above rather than the linked essay titles. Login with your BMC credentials to access essays from the International Relations section for which only Haverford has a subscription.
"Countermeasures in International Law"
"Genocide, Politicide, and Mass Atrocities against Civilian Populations"
"International Criminal Court"
"International Criminal Law"
"International Law"
"Sanctions in International Law"
"Transnational Law"
Dissertations and Theses
Doctoral students go through an exhaustive research process and often include a literature review chapter in their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions which may have received very little attention from scholars. You can obtain these dissertations and benefit from all the bibliographic treasures and new ideas. Check Dissertations & Theses to identify titles on your topic.
The database covers the Humanities and Social Sciences and offers over 2 million full-text dissertations. Theses not available full text can be checked on the Web or requested through Interlibrary loan.

Research Guides

Peace Palace. Research Guides
See the very informative guides done by librarians who support the staff of the International Court of Justice at the Hague. See in particular:
History of International Law
Public International Law