COML 200: Introduction to Comparative Literature (HC)

In this Second Edition, Culler includes much new material, including a discussion of the "death of theory," a look at topics such as trauma theory, ecocriticism, and the link between the theory of narrative and cognitive science, plus a new chapter on "Ethics and Aesthetics." The book also includes updated bibliographies.

The first four chapters address the broad theoretical issues within the field such as 'interliterary theory', decoloniality, and world literature, while the next four are more applied, looking at themes, translation, literary history and comparison with other arts. This guide also contains a glossary of terms and concepts as well as a detailed guide to further reading.

The gold standard anthology for anyone who wants to understand the development and current state of literary theory. Offering 191 pieces by 157 authors, The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism, Third Edition, is more comprehensive and more varied in its selection than any other anthology. Forty-eight NEW selections--concentrated mostly on the twentieth and twenty-first centuries--make the book not only the best overview of the history of theory, but also a remarkably up-to-date portrait of the state of theory today.

"A comprehensive introduction to the rapidly expanding field of memory studies. The reader is organized into three parts: Part I, Beginnings, is historical in scope; Part II, Positionings, identifies three major perspectives through which memory has been defined and debated more recently: Collective Memory, Jewish Memory Discourse, and Trauma; Part III, identities, examines the key role of memory in contemporary constructions of identity under the headings of Gender, Race/Nation, and Diaspora" [publisher's description]

The Translation Studies Reader provides a definitive survey of the most important and influential developments in translation theory and research, with an emphasis on twentieth-century developments. With introductory essays prefacing each section, the book places a wide range of seminal and innovative readings within their thematic, cultural and historical contexts. The third edition of this classic reader has been fully revised and updated and adds a new section: 2000 and beyond , which includes five new readings. These new readings bring the Reader up to date with recent developments in the field and include articles on translation and world literature and translation and the internet.

This collection focuses attention on theoretical approaches to travel writing, with the aim to advance the discourse.

This is a comprehensive collection of original essays that explore the aesthetics, economics, and mechanics of movie adaptation, from the days of silent cinema to contemporary franchise phenomena. Featuring a range of theoretical approaches, and chapters on the historical, ideological and economic aspects of adaptation, the volume reflects today's acceptance of intertextuality as a vital and progressive cultural force. Incorporates new research in adaptation studies.

This new anthology brings together the most diverse and recent voices in postcolonial theory, alongside classic texts in established areas of postcolonial studies. Brings fresh insight and renewed political energy to established domains such as nation, history, literature, and gender.