Bryn Mawr has a site license for GreekKeys, a keyboard mapping for polytonic Greek from the American Philological Association (much easier to use than the Windows mapping). For more information, see http://apagreekkeys.org/
The most comprehensive index for classics. Indexes and abstracts journals, collections, and conference volumes relating to classical literature, history, archaeology, law, and the classical tradition. Coverage online is from 1926 to 2008; the database now covers all volumes in print. (Print volumes can be found in the Trico libraries: Carpenter Reference Z7016 .M35A; Swarthmore Reference PA3001 .M35a; Haverford Stacks Z7016 .M32.)
Book and article level index of the DAI libraries in Rome, Athens, Istanbul, Berlin, etc. Best for archaeology, but also good for classics. Includes much of the same content as DYABOLA; somewhat easier to use.
Indexes international journal articles and collected studies in any field relating to the medieval world (classics, art, archaeology, history, theology, Islamic studies, music, etc.). Coverage is from 1967. To enter the site, click "Enter databases" and then "Go."
Very useful for locating older articles in journals in English and western European languages. The major archaeology, art, and classics journals are indexed, and coverage is from the first volume of the journal.
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
Contains several databases, the most important of which is the "Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom," the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology. This database goes back to 1956, and succeeds the print Archaologische Bibliographie, which started in 1932 (Carpenter Periodicals DE 2 .D5). Journals, Festschriften, and collected studies are all covered; the main focus is on the Mediterranean world. To enter the site, click "IP-Access" and then the English flag to the right of the database of your choice.
Comprehensive scholarly dictionary of Latin, encompassing the Latin language from the earliest times to AD 600. A-M, P, and some of N and R have been published. Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore all have the print edition: see Tripod.
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.
A collected, annotated, searchable bibliography of books and articles on aspects of Greek epigraphy, as well as summaries of Greek inscriptions. Inscriptions are listed by provenance and region. Swarthmore and Bryn Mawr have current print subscriptions to SEG as well: CN360.S9
Includes bibliographical references and subject and keyword indexes for late antiquity and classical periods. Online version of Der neue Pauly--which includes 13 volumes on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition, and one index volume--and Brill's New Pauly. Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation.
Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Known as LIMC; compiled by an international team in English, French, and German. Use this encyclopedia for finding images of and bibliography on classical mythology.
An online database from the French LIMC team can be found at http://www.limc-france.fr/presentation
Contains more than 5,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.
A comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. The board of internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.
Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
The Virgil Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive reference volume to be published in English on Publius Vergilius Maro, the classical Roman poet whose works and thoughts have been at the center of Western literary, cultural, artistic, and pedagogical traditions for more than two millennia. Through more than 2,200 carefully researched entries, scholars and students alike are provided with an in-depth treatment of all aspects of Virgil’s poetry and his immeasurable influence that continues to the present day.
Covers all facets of the distinct form of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece and reached its apex in Athens of the 5th century BCE in order to facilitate a better understanding and appreciation of the great surviving works of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, and their contemporaries.
Covers the history of warfare from ancient times to the present day across the globe. The encyclopedia provides an overview of the most important events, people, and terms associated with warfare, from the Punic Wars to the Mongol conquest of China and the War on Terror; from the Ottoman Sultan Suleiman ‘the Magnificent’ to the Soviet Military Commander Georgi Konstantinovich Zhukov; and from the crossbow to chemical warfare.
Tripod Classic tends to do better 'Title" and "Subject" searches than the new TRIPOD which is linked to below.
You can use the "Subject" search in Tripod to find books about a person or character. Note the sample search terms: 'Isaac biblical patriarch'; 'Adam biblical figure'; 'Paul the apostle'.
You can also search to see if there are books that have a significant discussion of the biblical passage that you are researching. Here is an example of this type of search: Bible O T Genesis XXII 1-19