Research Guides: ARCH 323/623: Alexander the Great (BMC): Finding books and articles

Locating Books & Journals in the Tri-Co

If you come across titles you think we should have, or titles that are missing, let me (Camilla MacKay) know—I'm happy to buy or replace books that should be in our collection.

Tripod Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Use Tripod to find resources available from the TriCo Libraries.
- Search for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more

Finding books and articles outside the Tri-Co

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of books, journals, and other materials in thousands of libraries. Excellent place to find material you want to request through ILL.

Basic Online Reference Sources

A complete list of resources and databases for Classical and Near Eastern Archaeology can be found on the Archaeology Research Guide page.

Oxford Classical Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
3rd revised edition

Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good starting point for recommendations on bibliography; article on Alexander the Great in the Classics guide. Also search for "Alexander the Great" to find other relevant bibliographies.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.

Encyclopedia of Ancient History
- This link opens in a new window
Entire Mediterranean world, including the Near East and Egypt.
Brill's New Pauly and Supplements
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographical references and subject and keyword indexes for late antiquity and classical periods. Online version of Der neue Pauly--which includes 13 volumes on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition, and one index volume--and Brill's New Pauly. Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation.
Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good general reference source that includes many articles with good bibliography on the ancient world.
Cambridge Histories Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See in particular volume 6, Fourth Century BC.
https://doi.org/10.1017/CHOL9780521233484

Finding articles

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index covering all aspects of classics from 1959 to present.

Catalogue of the German Archaeological Institute (ZENON)
Zenon, the catalogue of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut. Much of the same information as DYABOLA below, only through a free interface.

Included in this catalog are not only books held by the DAI libraries, but a full index to the journals and collected volumes. There is good coverage of Greek and Turkish archaeology. You can search for Greek titles in Greek.

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.

Google Books
New and old books; full text search. Good for identifying useful books even if you can't get to the full text.

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For articles; good for scientific literature.

Subject Guide

Camilla MacKay

Contact:

cmackay@brynmawr.edu

Subjects: Art & Art History, Classical & Near Eastern Archaeology, Classics

ARCH 323/623: Alexander the Great (BMC): Finding books and articles

Locating Books & Journals in the Tri-Co

Finding books and articles outside the Tri-Co

Basic Online Reference Sources

Finding articles

Subject Guide

Full library research guides