Tripod is not supported by IE 7. Please update your browser.
The main sources for identifying articles and books in Anthropology and related fields.
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. Edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Over four thousand articles on the African experience covering all time periods. Many cross references, bibliographies and chronologies.
- Encyclopedia of African American history 1619-1895
Nearly seven hundred signed entries documenting the full range of the African American experience from 1619-1895.
Selective bibliographies and cross-references appear at the end of each article.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features more than 10,000 articles and other content. The core collection includes: Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience, second ed.; Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present; Black women in America, second ed.; African American national biography; Dictionary of African biography; The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought.
- Africa Bibliography
This authoritative online guide to works in African studies is a rich and interactive resource for all scholars interested in the study of Africa.
Published under the auspices of the International African Institute since 1984.
- African Newspapers
Includes 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Features English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. Covers 1800-1922.
- African Studies Abstracts Online
Provides abstracts of journal articles and books in the social sciences relating to Africa. Covers 2003-present.
Provides daily news and information in English and French from across the African continent. Covers 1996-present (BMC & SC), last 30 days (HC).
- Dictionary of African Biography
A comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa's history ... Subjects are drawn from all walks of life.
- Empire Online
Offers images of original documents taken from libraries and archives around the world including correspondence, diaries, literature and illustrations. Includes essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. Covers a range of topics and includes Africa, the Americans, Australasia, Oceania and South Asia. Includes documents published between 1492-1969.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Offers full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. In English and Spanish, it offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Covers 1990-present.
- Historical Abstracts
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
- Index Islamicus
Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- PAIS International
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.
- World News Connection Archive
Contains hundreds of international news for the period 1995-2013. Material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.