Research Guides: SPAN 222: Rethinking Latin America in Contemporary Narrative (HC) Spring 2015: Finding Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Before conducting your search:

Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.

Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords. What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making? (E.g., insurgency vs. rebellion)

Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching

Identify disciplines that are relevant to your research question. Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional disciplines or cut across them.

See the Search Tips tab for additional information.

Searching for Articles

Begin your search with the relevant subject-specific databases below. If you are having trouble identifying sources through these databases, try one of the multidisciplinary ones to the right. To identify subject-specific databases not listed below, use Research Guides.

Once you have found relevant resources, use the button to get full-text copies the articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest (all databases)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest-owned databases at your institution.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Latin American Studies

Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (PRISMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators, politics, society, and Hispanic theater. Disciplines covered include anthropology, economics, history, literature, political science and sociology. Includes works in English and Spanish.
Informe Académico
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine. Also covers popular Latin American and Hispanic magazines and newspapers.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. The scope ranges from the colonial period to the present and includes monographs, manuscripts, pamphlets, letters, expedition records, journals, periodicals, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and newspaper accounts.

Literature

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.

Film & TV

FIAF (International Federation of Film Archives) Index to Film Periodicals Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index offering access to academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present, including the following databases: Index to Film Periodicals; Treasures from Film Archives; Documentation Collections; and FIAF affiliates' publications
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.

Gender Studies

Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies. Subjects include, feminism, women of color, science, health and technology. Includes different women's studies resources. Covers 1972-present.

Poltical Science & History

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
Clase & Periodica
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Latin American and Caribbean journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, conference proceedings, technical reports, and interviews in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology fields. Covers 1975-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.